December 22, 2017 ourclients

Everything You Need to Know About Washington Car Accident Reports

Whether you’re taking a trip to Seattle to visit the Space Needle or traveling the I-5 to Portland, you must always be careful when you are behind the wheel. If you’re involved in an accident that caused death, injury, or property damage of $700+ Washington law states you must report the accident to the Washington Department of Transportation. You’re required to submit an accident report to the Washington DOT within four days of the accident as well. If you fail to report the accident, you may potentially have your driver’s license suspended. However, if a police officer already filed an accident report, then you do not need to file another report with the Washington DOT.

Washington Car Accident Report Law

Information about how to file a car crash report in Washington and other Washington car accident report basics are outlined in the following chart.

State Statutes Washington Codes (Motor Vehicles) § 46.52.030
When to Report: You must report an automobile accident to the Washington DOT if a police officer has not already reported it and any of the following occur:

  • Death
  • Injury
  • Property damage of $700 or more
How to File a Car Crash Report in Washington: If you are involved in an accident meeting the above conditions, you must file a Collision Report Form (which can also be done online) with the Washington DOT no later than four days after the accident. Your report must include:

  • Your name, address and driver’s license number
  • Your vehicle registration number
  • Detailed and current information regarding your insurance coverage
  • A detailed explanation of what happened during the accident
  • Any weather or road conditions during the accident

Note: State laws are always subject to change through the passage of new legislation, rulings in the higher courts (including federal decisions), ballot initiatives, and other means. While we strive to provide the most current information available, please consult an attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.


What To Do At the Scene of An Accident

Your responsibility as a driver means you should not leave the scene of an accident until it’s appropriate to do so. Not only should you be staying to provide support and help to anyone injured from the accident, but if you go and leave the scene of an accident, your driver’s license may be suspended, and your driving privileges could be revoked.

Liability Insurance

If you don’t have car insurance at the time of the accident, your driving privileges could be suspended. To have your driving privileges reinstated, you’ll need to file proof of future financial responsibility (or form SR-22).

Contact A Professional Lawyer

If you still have questions about Washington car accident reports or on how to file an accident report in Washington State then do not hesitate to contact CCRS Law today for a free legal consultation. Learning what to do can save you money, stress, and additional problems, so don’t wait.

Over 100 Years Of Combined Legal Experience!

Contact Us For A FREE Consultation!